North West Growth Area

The NSW Government started planning for the North West Growth Area (NWGA) in 2003 to streamline the supply of greenfield land for urban development in Sydney. The strategic vision for the NWGA is set out in the North West Priority Growth Area Land Use and Infrastructure Implementation Plan (May 2017). This updates the North West Structure Plan, adopted by the NSW Government in 2006.

The North West Growth Area is divided into 16 Precincts, 12 of which are located within Blacktown City. The Precincts are released in stages by the NSW Government to allow the proper planning and coordination of infrastructure delivery for future urban development.

We work closely with the NSW Government in producing a Precinct Plan for released Precincts. The Precinct Plan includes a zoning change and introduction of development controls.

We also prepare a Section 7.11 Contributions Plan for the release area to cover the costs of local infrastructure.

Relevant documents include:

  • Growth Centres Development Code - provides the basis for the planning and design of Precincts and neighbourhoods and guides the studies required during precinct planning.

  • Land Use and Infrastructure Implementation Plan - outlines the planning framework to realise the opportunities for urban growth and plan for the infrastructure required to support this. 

  • State Environmental Planning Policy (Sydney Region Growth Centres) 2006 - the environmental planning instrument which sets controls for the North West and South West Growth Areas of Sydney.

  • Blacktown City Council Growth Centre Precincts Development Control Plan 2010 - provides the planning, design and environmental objectives and controls against which council will assess development applications.

  • Blacktown City Council Section 7.11 Contributions Plans – outlines the required contributions towards local infrastructure that will be levied on development consents.

Further information on the North West Growth Area and Precincts within Blacktown City is available on the NSW Government website.